Gerard Fanning

Gerard Fanning

Gerard Fanning (1952–2017) was one of the most distinctive of his generation of Irish poets. A graduate of University College Dublin, he has published three collections of poems with the Dedalus Press: Easter Snow (1992), Working for the Government (1999) and Water & Power (2004) as well as Hombre: New and Selected Poems (2011), with a preface by Gerald Dawe. Gerard Fanning was the recipient of the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature and of the Brendan Behan Award for poetry.

“Fanning’s poems… for all their quietude and hesitancy, their off-hand and often offbeat comments, their guarded privacies and sequestered emotions, sing with an elegant intensity” — Conor Kelly, Poetry Review

“The fluent and accomplished Gerard Fanning paces broad fields, an enigmatic surveyor with an appetite for the exotic cullivar” — Katherine Washburn, The Irish Times

Author's Books

Deciding What to Read Next?

Hombre: New & Selected Poems
Spend 30.00 more to get free IE shipping
Your Cart is empty!

It looks like you haven't added any items to your cart yet.

Browse Products
Powered by Caddy
Scroll to Top