By Iggy McGovern

20/12: Twenty Irish Poets Respond to Science

An anthology of 12-line poems relating to science by 20 Irish poets, edited by Iggy McGovern


Poet and physicist Iggy McGovern presents a pocket-sized anthology of 20 specially composed 12-line poems responding to the broad theme of science.

Featuring contributions by Pat Boran, Siobhán Campbell, John F. Deane, Celia de Freine, Michael Foley, Vona Groarke, Rita Ann Higgins, Medbh McGuckian, Paula Meehan, Sinéad Morrissey, Paul Muldoon, Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Jean O’Brien, Mary O’Donnell, Bernard O’Donoghue, Frank Ormsby, Maurice Riordan, Gabriel Rosenstock and Peter Sirr.

ISBN 978 1 906614 66 9 Paperback
48 pp
July 2012

Product Detail

  • ISBN: : 9781906614669 PB
  • Size: : 140 x 216 mm
  • Pages: : 48 pp
  • Published: : July 2012

About The Author


Iggy McGovern was born in 1948 in Coleraine. Since 1979 he has resided in Dublin, where he lectured in Physics at Trinity College until retirement in 2013. He has published two collections of poetry with Dedalus Press, The King of Suburbia (2005) and Safe House (2010). He edited the anthology 20|12: Twenty Irish Poets Respond to Science in Twelve Lines (Dedalus/Quaternia. 2012). Awards include The Hennessy Award for Poetry and The Glen Dimplex New Writers Award for Poetry. His most recent publication is A Mystic Dream of 4, a poetic biography of William Rowan Hamilton (Quaternia. 2013). PERSONAL STATEMENT "My poetry is characterised by form & rhyme and humour; it also reflects my professional career as a physicist. I am interested in exploring the common ground between Science and Literature." REVIEW EXCERPT “Light, rarely lightweight, McGovern’s voice is very much his own … unaffectedly honest, instructive and entertaining” — Eamon Grennan, The Irish Times, 2011