By Richard Zenith

28 Portuguese Poets

Edited and introduced by Richard Zenith, 28 Portuguese Poets is a bilingual anthology presenting more than a century of Portuguese poetry, beginning with Fernando Pessoa and his heteronyms


This major bilingual anthology, edited and introduced by Richard Zenith, and with English translations by Richard Zenith and Alexis Levitin, introduces the work of 28 Portuguese poets (beginning with Fernando Pessoa and his ‘heteronyms’), and reveals a richly varied body of verse that is at once a place of departure and exploration as well as, in the words of Alexandre O’Neill’s ‘Portugal’, “an ongoing discussion with myself”. Among the poets included are Alberto Caeiro, Ricardo Reis, Álvaro de Campos, Fernando Pessoa, Florbela Espanca, Jorge de Sena, Sophia de Mello Breyner, Carlos de Oliveira, Eugénio de Andrade, Mário Cesariny Alexandre O’Neill, António Ramos Rosa, Herberto Helder, Ruy Belo, Fiama Hasse Pais Brandão, Luiza Neto Jorge, Vasco Graça Moura, António Franco Alexandre, Al Berto, Nuno Júdice, Ana Luísa Amaral, Adília Lopes, Paulo Teixeira, José Tolentino Mendonça, Luís Quintais, Daniel Faria, Margarida Vale de Gato and Daniel Jonas.

“Provocative, profound, sensual, questioning, and sometimes impishly surreal, we are the better for these Portuguese voices.”
– Patrick Kehoe, RTÉ TEN

ISBN 978 1 910251 00 3 Paperback
ISBN 978 1 910251 49 2 Hardback
216 x 140 mm
285 PP

Additional information

Weight ,4 kg
Dimensions 216 × 140 mm
Choose Edition


Product Detail

  • ISBN: : 9781910251003 PB
  • Size: : 216 x 140 mm
  • Pages: : 285 pp
  • Published: : 2014

About The Author


RICHARD ZENITH was born in the United States in 1956. He has lived for many years in Portugal, where he works as a writer, researcher and translator of poetry. He is known in particular for his work on Fernando Pessoa, many of whose unpublished writings he has transcribed from the manuscripts and brought into print. Zenith’s numerous editions of Pessoa’s poetry and prose include Livro do desassossego (The Book of Disquiet; Assírio & Alvim, 1998) and a seven-volume Obra essencial de Fernando Pessoa (Círculo de Leitores, 2006-07). His translations from Pessoa’s work include Fernando Pessoa & Co – Selected Poems (Grove Press, 1998), which won the 1999 PEN Award for Poetry in Translation; The Book of Disquiet (Penguin, 2001) and A Little Larger Than the Entire Universe: Selected Poems (Penguin, 2006). Zenith spent over ten years researching and writing Pessoa: A Biography (Liveright/Norton, 2021). Richard Zenith learned Portuguese in Brazil and rendered into English two of the country’s greatest poets, João Cabral de Melo Neto (Education by Stone: Selected Poems, Archipelago, 2005; winner of the 2006 Harold Morton Landon Translation Award) and Carlos Drummond de Andrade (Multitudinous Heart: Selected Poems, FSG/Penguin, 2015). Zenith has also translated the Galician-Portuguese troubadours (with the support of a Guggenheim Fellowship), Luís de Camões, Sophia de Mello Breyner and many living poets. In 2012 he received the prestigious Pessoa Prize, awarded annually to an individual who has made a significant and innovative contribution to Portugal’s artistic, literary or scientific life.