By Paula Meehan

As If By Magic: Selected Poems

This much-anticipated, career-defining Selected Poems from Paula Meehan gathers poems published between 1991 and 2016



This generous Selected Poems from Paula Meehan,  one of Ireland’s foremost poets and most distinctive voices, gathers  work published between 1991 and 2016 from collections that have been lauded, awarded and widely translated, collections that have gained a large audience and a considerable reputation, nationally and internationally.

A great deal has changed in the world in the arc of time covered by this work, and those changes are noted and considered by poems that are remarkable for their clear-eyed witness. Meehan’s devotion to, and mastery of, her craft, has always been one of the key signatures of her work, as has been her immersion in her beloved native Dublin. In her Selected Poems we see this and more — her uncompromising engagement with the politics of gender and class, her love of the natural world and her grief at what threatens it, her holistic and visionary impulse to bless the creation, to be grateful for her place in it.

01 October 2020
140 x 216 mm
ISBN HB 9781910251782
ISBN PB 9781910251775
288 pages

Additional information



Product Detail

    No detail information

About The Author


Paula Meehan was born in 1955 in Dublin where she still lives. She studied at Trinity College, Dublin, and at Eastern Washington University in the U.S. She has received many awards, including the Marten Toonder Award for Literature, The Butler Literary Award for Poetry, the Denis Devlin Memorial Award and the PPI Award for Radio Drama. She has published six collections of poetry, the most recent being Geomantic (Dedalus Press, 2016). Selected Poems is published in October 2020. A previous selection, entitled Mysteries of the Home, was published in 1996 and reissued by Dedalus in 2013. Her writing for stage includes the plays Mrs Sweeney (1997), Cell (1999), and, for children, Kirkle (1995), The Voyage (1997) and The Wolf of Winter (2003/2004). A collection of her radio plays, Music for Dogs, was published by Dedalus in 2008. Meehan's poetry has been set to music by artists as diverse as the avant-garde composer John Wolf Brennan and the folk singer Christy Moore. She has collaborated throughout her working life with dancers, visual artists and filmmakers. A member of Aosdána, the Irish affiliation of writers and artists, Paula Meehan is a former Ireland Professor of Poetry.