By Patrick Deeley

Groundswell: New and Selected Poems

Introduced by Theo Dorgan, Groundswell is a major retrospective of the work of the Co. Galway born poet.
  • Available on Amazon Kindle HERE


With an Introduction by Theo Dorgan, and including a substantial selection of work, Groundswell: New and Selected Poems is a generous overview of the work of one of Irish poetry’s most compelling voices.

“Patrick Deeley’s imaginative strength springs from his childhood in the west of Ireland, a life close to and involved with nature. But this is no simplistic nature poetry, the poems are rich – as is the soil – with contradictions, growth and failure, life and death, beauty and horror. If Deeley stoops “to decipher the scripture of the wood” he is yet aware that even the human is fragile and will pass back into that soil. The forms of the poems echo this watchful care, their stanzas shaped, their language poised and cautious. This volume of new and selected poems is a rich and a rigorous achievement.”
— John F. Deane

“Though a number of Irish poets have written about the great changes in Ireland during the last ten to fifteen years, none have done it as beautifully, as potently as Deeley.”
Contrary (USA)

“Deeley restores a degree of the mystery that inheres in the natural world and the magic in the sounds of words.”
Kirkus Reviews (USA)

ISBN 978 1 906614 73 7 Paperback
140 x 216 mm, 226 pp
April 2013

Additional information

Weight ,35 kg
Dimensions 216 × 140 mm

Product Detail

  • ISBN: : 9781906614737
  • Size: : 216 x 140 mm
  • Pages: : 226 pp
  • Published: : April 2013

About The Author


PATRICK DEELEY was born in County Galway in 1953. His most recent poetry collection is The End of the World (Dedalus Press, 2019), for which he won the 2019 Lawrence O’Shaughnessy Award. This collection was also shortlisted for the 2020 Farmgate National Poetry Award. His other books with Dedalus Press are: Groundswell: New and Selected Poems (2013), The Bones of Creation (2008), Decoding Samara (2000), Turane: The Hidden Village (1995), Names For Love (1990) and Intimate Strangers (1986). Patrick Deeley served on the Council of Poetry Ireland from 1984 to 1989. He was awarded the 2014 Dermot Healy International Poetry Prize, the 2015 WOW2 Prize and a Patrick Kavanagh Merit Award in 1981. His poems have appeared in many leading international journals over the past forty years, including London Magazine, The Rialto, Arc, Atlanta Review, Chapman, Westerly and Irish Pages. His work has been translated to French, Italian, Spanish, Ukranian and other languages. Le Ossa della Creazione was published by Edizioni Kolibris in 2010, and Territoire / Territory appeared from Editions Alidades in 2011. ‘Woodman’ was chosen as one of ‘Ireland’s Favourite Poems’ following an Irish Times survey in 1999. The RTE Radio documentary series, The Poet and the Place, dedicated a programme to his work, as did RTE TV’s Nationwide and The Poet’s Eye. Patrick Deeley’s books for children include The Lost Orchard (O’Brien Press, 2001), winner of the Eilís Dillon Award. His critically acclaimed, best-selling memoir, The Hurley Maker’s Son (Doubleday Ireland, 2016), was chosen as their Book Choice by The Irish Times, Eason Books, The Pat Kenny Show and numerous other outlets. It featured on RTE’s Today programme and BBC Radio 4’s Midweek, as well as being shortlisted for the 2016 Irish Non-fiction Book of the Year Award. Patrick Deeley has read at many festivals including Bloom, Clifden Arts, Cuirt, Dublin Book Festival, Galway Arts, Glór, Kilkenny Arts, Oulu Music Festival in Finland, South Bank London, and a number of venues in the United States. He has led poetry workshops throughout Ireland for both children and adults, conducted lectures for post-graduate students on literary exchange programmes at TCD, and his ‘Poetry in the Classroom’, based on poem-making with children in Ballyfermot – where he worked as teacher and later as administrative principal – received Department of Education commendation and was published in ‘The Magic Emerald’ 1st to 6th Standards by CJ Fallon. (See also