By Maighréad Medbh

Savage Solitude

Poet Máighréad Medbh explores, through prose aphorism and poetry, the subject of how to be alone.


Subtitled ‘Reflections of a Reluctant Loner’, Savage Solitude is a unique and thought-provoking book, taking the reader on a journey through the immediate experience of being alone.

Drawing on quotations from a wide range of poets, philosophers, writers and scientists, the conversation of the book moves in a kind of rolling wave that is simultaneously story and analysis, report and ongoing investigation.

Intimate, empathetic, dramatic, this multi-voiced work is a study by immersion, a living experience conducted through the medium of text, and all the while pushing towards an answer to the question (more pressing than ever in our hi-tech age) of how to be alone.

“Savage Solitude is a compelling exploration of self, an unusual combination of literary art forms that achieve a well-rounded discussion of a perennial subject. Medbh’s voices are skillful perspectives that help round out the existential side of solitude and the solitary.”
— Meng-hu,

Máighréad Medbh discusses Savage Solitude with Sean Rocks, Arena, RTÉ Radio 1 here.

ISBN 978 1 906614 63 8 Paperback
290 pp, 140 x 216 mm
March 2013

Additional information

Weight.4 kg
Dimensions216 × 140 mm

Product Detail

  • ISBN: : 9781906614638
  • Size: : 216 x 140 mm
  • Pages: : 290 pp
  • Published: : March 2013

About The Author


Máighréad Medbh is an Irish poet with five collections of her work published to date. One of the pioneers of performance poetry in Ireland in the 1990s, she continues to impress audiences with her unique style. Over the years she has pursued several ways of earning a living, including the Irish Civil Service and internet content management. Born in Co. Limerick, she now lives in apartment-land, Swords, Co. Dublin, and works in the public library service. See also REVIEW EXCERPT "The poems have a kind of verbal intoxication and head-long, devil-may-care adrenalin pumped up with the rhythms of rock, rap, and reggae." — Andrew Swarbrick, Oxford Times