By Paddy Bushe

Voices at the World’s Edge

Dublin-born poet Paddy Bushe, a longtime resident of the Kerry coast, guides Irish and English language poets (Woods, Ní Chuilleanáin, Deane, O’Donoghue and others) out to the ancient monastic site of Skellig Michael off Ireland’s south-west coast.


Paddy Bushe (ed.)
Foreword Marie Heaney
Photographs John Minihan

For some 700 years after its foundation in the 6th century, the monastery on Skellig Michael off the Kerry coast (a climb of 670 steps above sea level) was home to a vibrant monastic community, and one of the earliest of such settlements in Ireland.

For this unique and fascinating anthology, Dublin-born Paddy Bushe (long since living within sight of the Skelligs) invited some of Ireland’s best-known poets to spend the night among bee-hive huts, puffins and gannets, and to write of the experience at the one-time ‘edge of the world’.

Paddy Bushe, John F. Deane, Theo Dorgan, Kerry Hardie, Biddy Jenkinson, Seán Lysaght, Derek Mahon, Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Bernard O’Donoghue, Cathal Ó Searcaigh and Macdara Woods.

Special Collector’s Editon

The Special Collector’s Edition of this book comes in a grey slipcase, and is limited to 50 numbered copies only, each of which is signed by all of the contributing poets, the photographer and the publisher. As such it is a rare and special volume. A small number are still available. Please contact the publisher for further details.

Additional information

Weight0.200 kg
Dimensions22.9 × 15.2 mm


Product Detail

  • ISBN: : 9781906614355 PB; 9781906614362 HB
  • Size: : 22.9 x 15.2 mm
  • Pages: : 192 pp
  • Published: : April 2011

About The Author


Paddy Bushe was born in Dublin in 1948 and now lives in Waterville, Co. Kerry. A prize-winning poet in Irish and in English, his collections include Poems With Amergin (1989), Teanga (1990), Counsellor (1991), Digging Towards The Light (1994), In Ainneoin na gCloch (2001), Hopkins on Skellig Michael (2001) and The Nitpicking of Cranes (2004). To Ring in Silence: New and Selected Poems was published in 2008. He edited the anthology Voices at the World’s Edge: Irish Poets on Skellig Michael (Dedalus, 2010). His latest collection is My Lord Buddha of Carraig Eanna (Spring, 2012). The recipient of the Oireachtas prize for poetry in 2006, he also received the 2006 Michael Hartnett Poetry Award. He is a member of Aosdána.